How to Report an Unsafe Truck Driver in Mississippi
Most truck drivers on the road are professional and respectful and drive with concern for the safety of all the vehicles around them. But unfortunately, not all truck drivers can be described this way, and every once in a while you may encounter a driver who is dangerous, reckless, and threatening in their behavior. As a responsible driver, there are steps you can take to report these drivers and help keep other drivers on the road safe.
How to File a Federal Report
The Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA) is the national regulator for moving companies. This includes bus and truck companies, and depending on the circumstances, they may be able to process a complaint about unsafe driving.
Complaints to the FMSCA must involve violations that occurred within the last 60 days and must be about interstate or hazardous materials carriers. The FMCSA has jurisdiction over “interstate” activity, or moving vehicles that travel in more than one state. The FMSCA does not require that complaints about hazardous materials carriers involve interstate activity, nor do they require that they by submitted within 60 days.
If you are a passenger on a bus, limousine, or motor coach service that travels in more than one state, the FMSCA may also have jurisdiction if you witness safety problems while onboard. You can either call a Safety Violation Hotline (1-888-DOT-SAFT) or file a complaint on their website at http://nccdb.fmsca.dot.gov/.
How to File a State Report
For complaints involving vehicles that do not meet federal reporting criteria, the FMSCA website offers contact information for their State Field Office. Mississippi’s office in Jackson is available to answer safety questions, process complaints, and provide guidance concerning Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations.
The Mississippi Department of Public Safety’s Mississippi Highway Patrol is an additional resource for all the state’s safe driving policies concerning all types of vehicles. Their latest safety campaign provides Mississippi drivers with contact information for filing complaints and access to laws that govern truck driver training and safety.
All immediate safety concerns should be reported by calling 911. The FMSCA and State Field Offices are available for reporting past incidents. Interacting with an aggressive driver can be very dangerous. It is important to recognize that if someone is not immediately in danger, there are steps to report unsafe driving at a later date when the moment has passed and the situation can no longer emotionally escalate.
If you or someone you love has been the victim of an accident caused by unsafe truck driving in the state of Mississippi, a Biloxi truck accident lawyer can help. Corban Gunn, Attorney at Law is experienced in handling complicated truck accident claims that can have many factors. The truck driver and the trucking company can both be held liable. Contact our legal team today for a free, zero-obligation consultation of your case. We will work to earn you the money you deserve to pay for medical expenses and help return your life to normal.
What is a “Slip and Fall” Accident?